…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Palt or kumla?

7 Comments


I know, I know. This is not a posting about Yunquera, Spain, soap, olive trees or anything else remotely from this area! Some might even consider this a very odd blog topic (yes, I mean you, Peggy!!).

I was looking at information about restaurants in Stockholm. Again, odd, you think? Well, not so much, as husband Kenton is visiting friends in Stockholm while I am attending a family reunion in June in Minneapolis.

The odd thing is that much of my heritage is Swedish. But I’ve never been to Sweden. But apparently we still have cousins there. So anyway, I was browsing Swedish restaurants and food on Tripadvisor (yes, that is odd, but I love to look at restaurant menus!). Lutefisk caught my eye (wouldn’t it yours?). My grandmother used to serve lutefisk (cod cured in lye) with lefse, and, though I never tried the fish, I remember my mother used to dread her serving it!

Another food item on Tripadvisor caught my eye – “palt”. This is grated potato mixed with flour, often with a bit of pork tucked inside (“pitepalt”), then made into balls and boiled in meat stock. Diehard palt-lovers serve it with lingonberries – outrageous!

To the knowing Larson, this sounds suspiciously like “kumla”, which is also a grated potato/pork/dumpling thing boiled in meat stock. This was made by my grandmother, too, but most of us Larsons loved it. I serve it every year during our olive harvest, as it is nourishing, full of energy, and … well, sticks to the ribs! Even my non-Scandinavian husband loves it!

So, if anyone out there knows – is there any difference between palt and kumla, or are they perhaps Swedish vs Norwegian names for the same thing?

Kumla or palt? (photo by Fredrik Andersson)

Kumla or palt? (photo by Fredrik Andersson)

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

7 thoughts on “Palt or kumla?

  1. Don’t know the difference but I will ask when I am in Stockholm in June !

    Like

  2. I think they are pretty much the same. Palt must be the heavier version (?!), as kumla also contains some baking powder!

    Like

  3. I have an enquiring mind so you forced me to do a quick Google and I found this — check out the last post.

    http://www.recipezaar.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=210398

    Like

  4. No comment. 😉

    Like

  5. I’m from Norway and I swear, they like Lingonberries on EVERYTHING – meatloaf, potato concoctions and ice cream. It’s sort of like ketchup or ranch dressing is to some people in the States.

    Like

    • My brother says he think palt is Swedish, and kumla Norwegian – what do you think? They look and sound like pretty much the same thing to me.

      I actually like lingonberries! I was born and raised in South Dakota in the US, and there is a big community of Scandinavians there, so have eaten lingonberries many times.

      My sister-in-law is German, and eats her kumla with ketchup on the top!

      Like

  6. I have an enquiring mind so I did a quick Google and found this — check out the last post in particular
    http://www.recipezaar.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=210398

    Like