…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Spain takes a heavy toll!

2 Comments


I’m sitting in our office typing an email, and my fingers hurt, making it hard to type. This reminds me that before I came to Spain, I had pretty much avoided injurying myself!

Kenton is different, as he always played sport, so has had many injuries over the years. But, in typical Larson fashion, I played no sport, did not work at a physical job, and generally avoided too much exertion! Aside from work-related RSI, my body was my temple ! 🙂

No longer. Since moving to Spain 5 1/2 years ago I have:

  • Broken 2 fingers (a concrete beam slipped and landed on 2 fingers – now moving nicely into painful arthritis!!)
  • Broken a big toe
  • Acquired numerous scars and scrapes
  • Bashed my head when Kenton dropped a metal bar on it (accidentally, I’m sure!)
  • Burned the tops and backs of both ears (helping Manuel burn his olive branches)
  • Burned my facial hair off (I’ll say no more)

The fingers I think I will have to see a doctor about. They are extremely painful in the cold, and often difficult to bend.

Other injuries I’ll just live with, brave old me, eh?

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Spain takes a heavy toll!

  1. Ahhhhh – get over it, wuss. What’s a few broken fingers ?

    Like

  2. Thank goodness for that response, normal service has been resumed! 😉 xx

    Like