…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

I love our garden!


Well, I do. I won’t apoligize for that.

We worked hard today – but it was a fine, sunny day so it was no hardship! In the morning, we finished off one plateau of our firebreak (remember, I’ve spoken ad nauseum on needing to cut 50 trees this year!). So far, we have cut 20 trees, burned the small branches, cut the bigger branches for firewood, and left some big trunks for Kenton to put on the sawmill for building our shed.

But I digress. I was talking about our garden! Well, we have had 2 fine days in a row, and the veggie garden is really responding. This is our winter garden, which is smaller, as there is not that much you can grow here in the winter! But we have carrots, broad beans, sprouting broccoli, cauli, cabbage, brussel sprouts, swede, onions, garlic, parsnips and lettuce.

LETTUCE, you midwesterners ask?! Yes, I really did say that. Somehow lettuce manages to grow here in the winter, un-greenhoused – and they even survived our frosts and snow. So we have 20 green lettuce almost ready to start picking, and 20 red lettuce which will follow in a couple of months.

I love seeing the plants all in a row. This is what it is all about for me – growing food that is clean and healthy, no pesticides or other harmful sprays. You can eat them right off the plant, no need to peel or scrub.

You certainly can’t say that about veg bought in Tesco/Safeway/Sainsburys/Albertsons.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.