…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Homemade shower gel and face cream, yum!


I tried my hand at making homemade shower gel and face cream this morning. The shower gel is made mostly using a grated bar of our homemade Castile soap, then adding water and fragrance. To me, it looks like it needs to be thicker, but smells yummy, as I used “citrus musk” fragrance oil. I’ll try it tonight and report back.

I also made 2 different types of face cream. One is a bit of a cheat – I used base, then added a French lime fragrance. It looks, feels and smells great. The other face cream is totally from scratch, using lanolin, olive oil, almond oil and lavendar. It also looks and smells great, but I can’t test it til it cools and solidifies.

It’s really fun to make these things – but messy! By the end of my ‘cooking’ I had bits of oil and lanolin all over the place, both hard to clean up!

Oh, and did I mention I also made a Granny Smith apple cake? It’s still in the oven and smells great.

Kenton is busy doing other things, like his next photo shoot for the Olive Press and collecting the post. I suspect he will be hot and tired when he returns!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.