…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

*&%# Software

2 Comments


I worked in software for 20 years, and enjoyed it very much. But it never ceases to irritate and amaze me how annoying it can be to install software. This morning, I was trying to install some software on my new HTC Touch Pro. Should be a doddle, right? Well, here’s the process so far…

Plug the phone into my Mac. Feel optimistic. Want to install Skype mobile on the phone. Go to Skype site…oops, need MS ActiveSync! What about the Mac? No mention.

Go to Google. Find a forum on just this subject. There are several alternatives to ActiveSync, great. None of them supported according to HTC. Not so great.

Go to the SyncMate site, which is a great alternative to ActiveSync. Look for my phone model. Not tested/supported, but they say they are happy to have me try it anyway.

Yeah, I bet they are! Now, I don’t blame anyone for this situation, but it always irritates me when things don’t ‘just work’. Despite all the years in software, despite the advent of ‘new technology’, it never changes – you need the patience of Job and a leap in the dark to believe all this will go smoothly!

(sorry for the rant. I spent the best part of 4 hours yesterday getting my Epson printer to work again after updating my O/S, so my nerves are a bit frayed!)

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “*&%# Software

  1. and as someone said to me yesterday – “trust me, it just works” – yeah right, obviously not someone who ever worked in software ! The closest to the above that anyone from software would believe is – “trust me, it might, just look like it’s working sometimes”

    Like

  2. Well Ann, try Voip Stunt. It has it over Skype any day it is an open system, more or less free except for international mobiles and it doesn’ have to shell out profits like Skype. No idea how Mac friendly it is!

    Like